Is this Antivirus legit?
Is this Antivirus legit?
I clicked on a link from Google that’s relevant to traffic laws and it automatically brought me to Windows-scanner.com. And then it automatically ran a “scan” of 1100 items and “found” 45. But shouldn’t the scan take longer than that of 1100 items? When my Norton runs a scan on my computer, it takes a while to go through everything. Is that site even legit? The shield symbol resembles Norton’s shield, except this one has 4 divided sections of different colors (red, green, blue, and yellow). I have also came upon a similar site as this one a few days ago, requiring me to download their anti-spyware. Is it safe to download?
But I have a Spyware Blaster installed. That’s supposed to block spyware from being put into my computer. Isn’t that supposed to keep my computer safe?
Best answer:
just click off of it becuase our computer sometimes dose thing for no reason and i did not even make it do it.and by the way block that website and that one only.my email si cleosimble@yahoo.com
Under Forum

5 Comments for Is this Antivirus legit?
1. rishab v | November 3rd, 2008 at 9:53 am
NO.Windows-Scanner.com is a another fake security web-site that promotes rogue anti-spyware software called Antivirus 2009. Antivirus 2009 downloads additional trojans on the user’s computer for maximum destructions. Once inside, these trojans shows fake warning alerts and annoying popups.
If you are redirecting to Windows-Scanner.com and prompting to download the rogue security application like AntiVirus 2009, It means your computer has been infected by Zlob or Vundo trojans.
Risk Level : High ( Dangerous )
Note :- To safely & quickly detect Windows-Scanner.com, I highly recommend you to use webroot spysweeper which i having being use for a year now.It’s the best that is available in the market now
2. MyName_Is?? | November 3rd, 2008 at 10:10 am
Its a Scam for a Rogue antispyware 2008, so dont click on anything if you din your probally already infected, ITs called XP AntiVirus 2008, you need to get superantispyware free edition, download, update, and run an in depth scan in safe mode, its data base now covers this problam., Stay away from that web site, theres a feature in superantispyware that protects your home page from being changed enable that also., Good luck
3. Edi J | November 3rd, 2008 at 10:20 am
Windows-Scanner.com is a another fake security web-site that promotes rogue anti-spyware software called Antivirus 2009.
pcthreat.com/parasitebyid-6947en.html
4. David S | November 3rd, 2008 at 11:02 am
You have to be careful because there’s a lot of fake anti virus and spyware scanners around there. A good rule of thumb is that if a “program” that you didn’t install runs a “scan” on your computer when you open a website then it’s fake and you just have to ignore it. You can have some more information here
windows-spyware-remove.blogspot.com/
5. cotojo | November 3rd, 2008 at 11:48 am
Keep away from any site that apparently finds XXXX number of trojans, registry errors etc.
These are malicious fake programs which once downloaded THEY are the infection. Many people pay good money for this trash.
If it has been downloaded Malwarebytes Anti-Malware will scan and remove malware infections:
download.com/Malwarebytes-Anti-Malware/3000-8022_4-10804572.html?hhTest=1
SpywareBlaster needs a manual scan and does not offer realtime protection, for that download Spyware Doctor Free Basic Edition which does run in realtime:
pack.google.com/intl/en/pack_installer_new.html?hl=en&gl=us&ciNum=12
Its free with Google pack, untick all boxes except Spyware Doctor
Only ever download from reputable sites, and check with other users.
Good sites: download.com, filehippo, majorgeeks, softpedia to name just a few.
Also type the software name into google search and see the trash that comes up, also protect yourself by using an updating linkscanner such as mywot.com
Details of how it works:
cotojo.wordpress.com/2008/06/30/
Leave a Comment for Is this Antivirus legit?
Trackback this post | Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed